NewsOuter Space

Space Cargo Ship Falls to Earth and Looks Like a Firework

So long, Progress 72, and thanks for all of the stuff.  The Russian-constructed Progress cargo ship went down in flames (on function) on Monday (July 29), and an area station astronaut made certain to seize its fiery doom on digicam.

Hague watched Progress 72’s demise from the International Space Station, the place he and five different area vacationers bid farewell to the uncrewed cargo ship because it undocked itself from the Russian-constructed Pirs module after four months linked to the orbiting lab. And reenter Progress 72 did.

As Hague’s photograph exhibits, the disposable spacecraft broke aside right into a bathe of bits because it burned up in Earth’s ambiance. The cosmic funeral pyre marked the top of a supply mission that started with an April 4 launch to the station.

Progress 72 delivered 3.7 tons of provides and kit to the station throughout its mission. That haul included 104 lbs. (47 kilograms) of oxygen and air; 926 lbs. (420 kg) of water; three,117 lbs. (1,413 kg) of spare components and equipment; and 3,375 lbs. (1,530 kg) of propellant. Its departure makes method for an alternative cargo ship, Progress 73.

A Russian Soyuz rocket is scheduled to launch Progress 73 from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on Wednesday (July 31) at 8:10 a.m. EDT (1210 GMT).  The mission comes lower than every week after the arrival of a SpaceX Dragon cargo ship on the station. That mission launched into orbit Thursday (July 25) and arrived on Saturday (July 27).

Progress 73 is predicted to ship almost three tons of providers to the house station at 11:35 a.m. EDT (1535 GMT) after making simply two orbits around Earth in an excellent-quick flight. It’s going to keep on the station till December when it is going to depart to deplete in Earth’s environment additionally.

You’ll be able to watch the Progress 73 launch live here Wednesday, courtesy of NASA TV. NASA’s launch webcast will start at 7:45 a.m. EDT (1145 GMT), with docking protection to start at 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 GMT).

Russia’s Progress spacecraft are workhorse vehicles that look just like the crewed Soyuz autos utilized by Roscosmos, the nation’s space agency, to ferry crews to and from the International Space Station. However, as a substitute of a crew capsule, Progress vehicles carry propellant, experiments and different a lot-wanted provides to maintain astronauts and cosmonauts properly stocked.

Tags

Clara Turner

Clara is leading the column containing news about outer space. Her imaginations, backed up by logical reasoning, have always created exciting and interesting topics of debate and discussions. She is a double degree older in physics as well as chemistry, and hence this has deliberately enhanced and upgraded her skills to a sky-high level. Her achievements in the field of theories are undoubtedly incomparable.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Close
Close